MCCS - News and Events

Marine Corps Sport Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony Announced

Release Date: 7/18/2005

MCB QUANTICO, VA - The Commandant of the Marine Corps will host the 2005, United States Marine Corps Sports Hall of Fame induction ceremony here at the Clubs at Quantico, July 29, 2005 at 11am.

General Michael W. Hagee will induct former Marines Jerry Coleman, Lloyd "Butch" Keaser, Elroy Hirsch, and Paul Arizin at a luncheon ceremony that will celebrate their achievements.

Coleman, a former Marine lieutenant colonel, was the 1949 Major League Baseball Rookie of the Year and 2005 Baseball Hall of Fame Selection as the Ford C. Frick Award winner for broadcasting. Keaser, a former Marine captain, is a two-time All-American Wrestler and 1976 Olympic Freestyle Wrestling Silver Medallist.  Hirsch, a former Marine second lieutenant, is in the National Football Hall of Fame and was selected to three Pro-Bowl appearances. Arizin, a former Marine sergeant, is a ten-time NBA All-Star and 1978 Basketball Hall of Fame inductee.

The United States Marine Corps Sports Hall of Fame honors former Marines who have excelled both on and off the athletic playing field. Established in 2001, Hall of Fame inductees will be enshrined in the National Museum of the United States Marine Corps at the Heritage Center near Quantico Virginia when it is completed in 2005.

Fourteen former Marines have been selected for the Hall of Fame since it was founded in 2001. Past inductees include baseball legend Ted Williams and Olympic great Robert B. Mathias, International Boxing Hall of Fame member Ken Norton, and Pro Football Hall of Fame member Arthur Donovan Jr. 

Also to be honored the induction ceremony will be numerous Marine champion athletes to include the 2004 Marine Corps Female and Male athletes of the year Capt. Mary Kate Bailey and Cpl. Jacob Clark.

For more information about the Marine Corps Sports Hall or the Marine Corps Athlete's of the Year, please contact Steve Dinote, HQMC Semper Fit, 703-784- 9542, or email:



Return to News Page