MCCS - News and Events

2007 Marine Corps Sport Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony Announced

Release Date: 4/26/2007

HQMC (MR), QUANTICO, VA - The Commandant of the Marine Corps will host the 2007, United States Marine Corps Sports Hall of Fame induction ceremony here at the Clubs at Quantico, Aug. 17, 2007, at 11 a.m.

General James T. Conway will induct former Marines Angelo Bertelli, Leo Nomellini, Gil Hodges, and Robert Wanzer at a luncheon ceremony that will celebrate their achievements.

Bertelli, a former Marine Captain, was the 1943 Heisman Trophy winner and is a member of the College Football Hall of Fame. Nomellini, a former Marine Staff Sergeant, was a six-time All Pro and a member of the College and Pro Football Hall of Fames. Hodges, a former Marine Sergeant, was an eight-time All-Star and the 1969 Major League Baseball Manager of the Year. Wanzer, a former Marine Corporal, is a five-time NBA All-Star and a member of the National Basketball Hall of Fame.

The United States Marine Corps Sports Hall of Fame honors former Marines who have excelled both on and off the athletic playing field. Established in 2001, Hall of Fame inductees will be enshrined in the National Museum of the United States Marine Corps at the Heritage Center near Quantico Virginia.

Twenty-one former Marines have been selected for the Hall of Fame since it was founded in 2001. Past inductees include baseball legend Ted Williams, Olympic great Robert B. Mathias, International Boxing Hall of Fame member Ken Norton, and Pro Football Hall of Fame member Arthur Donovan Jr. 

Also to be honored at the induction ceremony will be numerous Marine champion athletes to include the 2006 Marine Corps Male and Female athletes of the year.

For more information about the Marine Corps Sports Hall or the Marine Corps Athlete's of the Year, please contact Steven Dinote, HQMC Semper Fit, 703-784- 9542, or email:

Return to News Page