MCCS - News and Events

Marine Corps Sport Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony Announced

Release Date: 7/15/2008

HQMC MR DIV, QUANTICO, VA - The Commandant of the Marine Corps will host the 2008, United States Marine Corps Sports Hall of Fame induction ceremony here at the Clubs at Quantico, July 18, 2008 at 11 a.m.
General James T. Conway will induct former Marines Eddie LeBaron, Hank Bauer, Ernie Stautner, and Joshua Culbreath at a luncheon ceremony that will celebrate their achievements.
LeBaron, a former Marine Major, was a four-time NFL All-Pro and a member of the College Football Hall of Fame.  Bauer, a former Marine Sergeant, was a three-time Major League Baseball All-Star and the manager of the 1966 World Series Champion Baltimore Orioles. Stautner, a former Marine Private First Class, was a nine-time NFL All-Pro and a member of the NFL Football Hall of Fame. Culbreath, a former Marine Corporal, was the 1956 Olympic 400-meter Hurdles bronze medalist and former 440-yard Hurdles World Record holder. 
The United States Marine Corps Sports Hall of Fame honors former Marines who have excelled both on and off the athletic playing field. Established in 2001, Hall of Fame inductees will be enshrined in the National Museum of the United States Marine Corps at the Heritage Center near Quantico Virginia.
Twenty-five former Marines have been selected for the Hall of Fame since it was founded in 2001. Past inductees include baseball legend Ted Williams, Olympic great Robert B. Mathias, International Boxing Hall of Fame member Ken Norton, and golf legend Lee Trevino. 
Also to be honored at the induction ceremony will be numerous Marine champion athletes to include the 2007 Marine Corps Male and Female athletes of the year.
For more information about the Marine Corps Sports Hall or the Marine Corps Athlete’s of the Year, please contact Steven Dinote, HQMC Semper Fit, 703-784- 9542, or email:

Return to News Page