MCCS - News and Events

Marine Corps Sport Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony Announced

Release Date: 7/6/2010

MCB QUANTICO, VA - The Commandant of the Marine Corps will host the 2010, United States Marine Corps Sports Hall of Fame induction ceremony here at the Clubs at Quantico, August 6, 2010 at 11 a.m.
General James T. Conway will induct Harry Liversedge, Gregory Burgess, James Phelan, and Charles Conerly at a luncheon ceremony that will celebrate their achievements.
Liversedge, a former Marine Brigadier General, held the U.S. National Javelin Record in 1915 and won the Bronze Medal in the 1920 Olympics in Antwerp, Belgium.  Burgess, a Marine Major, is a 1992 Olympic Silver Medalist in the 200-meter Individual Medley and 17-time Collegiate Swimming All-American.  Phelan, a former Marine First Lieutenant, holds the record for total National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) basketball games coached with 1,354 and was the National Coach of the Year in 1962 and 1981 with the Mountaineers of Mount Saint Mary's University.  Conerly, a former Sergeant, was the 1948 NFL Rookie of the Year and is a member of the College Football Hall of Fame.   
The United States Marine Corps Sports Hall of Fame honors former Marines who have excelled both on and off the athletic playing field.  Established in 2001, Hall of Fame inductees will be enshrined in the National Museum of the United States Marine Corps at the Heritage Center near Quantico, Virginia.
Thirty-three former Marines have been selected for the Hall of Fame since it was founded in 2001. Past inductees include baseball legend Ted Williams, Olympic great Robert B. Mathias, International Boxing Hall of Fame member Ken Norton, and golf legend Lee Trevino. 
Also to be honored at the induction ceremony will be numerous Marine champion athletes to include the 2009 Marine Corps Male and Female athletes of the year.
For more information about the Marine Corps Sports Hall or the Marine Corps Athlete’s of the Year, please contact Steven Dinote, HQMC Semper Fit, 703-784- 9542, or email:

Return to News Page